In the Living Kitchen

Musings, memories, meals in the making.

No Time Season.

1 Comment

(Yeah, no time at all which is why I am writing this post!  All photos were taken specifically for posts I never wrote.)

I wish I had some sort of recording device hooked up to my brain so that my thoughts could be transcribed in this here blog while I am working.  Okay, not all of them.  A lot of the time I am just worrying, giving myself an ulcer and all that.  But sometimes, my mind mulls over quite interesting topics, such as the theory of special relativity (fellow Johnnies will appreciate that), the ethics of eating locally, and lately I’ve been thinking a lot about Plato, modern feminism and herbal salves.

But alas, at the end of the day, I come home, realize that I will be back at work in eight hours, feel the need to eat dinner even though I am falling asleep, and go to bed.  All thought save the farm one flee.  I have three books on the nightstand: Breads from La Brea Bakery, Heavenly Bodies, Earthly Hair, and Healing with Whole Foods.  I wish I could say I have made progress with any of them, however, I fall asleep after reading one page these days.  (The bread book is, so far, awesome, in that the breads I have made from it have turned out well.  I keep it by my nightstand because the two times I have used it I have had to set an alarm for 3:00 AM in order to ready the dough for its second rise.  You got to understand, these recipes must be followed to the letter!)

I have spoken to other laborers about this, and we all agree, work begets thought.  My mind is hungry for topics, but I can’t muster the energy to give it any new stuff (hence the constant worrying).  I can say this though, I do have these moments when I feel one with my work, when there seem to be no thoughts in my brain, just observance of the task at hand.  It doesn’t last long, but it’s quite refreshing, akin to jumping into the pond.

I will be spending time now writing posts ion my CSA blog, since the season begins June 1.  There will be recipes galore and farm news and so on every Sunday.  So I think I will probably just be posting goofy pictures of my culinary exploits on this blog.  Or maybe writing haiku poetry.   Or perhaps that device will materialize and I will start writing a novel while toiling in the field.  You never know.

One thought on “No Time Season.

  1. There are very small digital recording devices that you could probably keep in a pocket and dictate your thoughts to. The resulting tape could then probably be fed into a voice-activated word processing system, such as Dragon (which Hannah has on her laptop), to yield a document that you could then edit/polish into a proper essay or novel (as the case may be).
    – Bennet
    P.S. Happy birthday!
    P.P.S. What is the link to your CSA blog? Please send it to me via email.

Leave a Reply

